The United Kingdom general election of 2017 is scheduled to take place on 8 June 2017. Each of the 650 parliamentary constituencies will elect one Member of Parliament (MP) to the House of Commons, the lower house of Parliament.

In line with the Fixed-term Parliaments Act 2011, an election had not been due until 7 May 2020, but a call for a snap election by Prime Minister Theresa May received the necessary two-thirds majority in a 522 to 13 vote in the House of Commons on 19 April 2017.[1] The Conservative Party, which has governed since 2015 (and was the majority party in a coalition government from 2010 to 2015), is defending a majority of 17 against the Labour Party, the official opposition.[2] The third-largest party is the Scottish National Party, which won 56 of the 59 Scottish constituencies in 2015.

Current MPs

Dr Philip LeE

Party: Comservative

Constituency: Bracknell.

Assumed office: 6 May 2010

Mr Adam Afriyie

Party: Conservative

Contituency: Windsor (Bracknell Northern Villages)

Assumed office: 5 May 2005

2017 Prospective Candidates


Conservative – Dr Phillip Lee –
Labour – Paul Bidwell –
Lib Dems – Patrick Smith –
Independent – Olivio Barreto
Windsor (Bracknell Northern Villages & Ascot)
Conservative – Adam Afriyie –
Labour – Peter Shearman –
Lib Dems – Julian Tisi –